Florida Arson Defense Attorneys
Arson is the deliberate and malevolent burning or charring of a structure or property. Previously, a crime was only considered arson if a person set fire to a house or residence of another. However, arson laws have been expanded to include the destructive burning of commercial property, forest land, boats, and personal property. Even if you burn your own building for the purpose of insurance fraud or otherwise, you could still be charged with arson. If you have been arrested for arson, the knowledgeable criminal defense attorneys at Perez LaSure Law can help.
Degrees of Arson
Like many states, Florida has different degrees of arson: first degree and second degree arson. The determining factor between the degrees is the type of structure that was damaged or destroyed. Damage to any kind of residence is considered first degree arson, while damage to any other structure or building is considered second degree arson. The penalty for first degree arson is up to 30 years in prison, and the penalty for second degree arson is up to 15 years in prison.
The defendant may also be susceptible to additional charges on top of the crime of arson. Additional charges could include:
- Falsely reporting a bomb
- Making or attempting to make a bomb
- Threatening to discharge a bomb
- Discharging a bomb
- Setting fire to defraud an insurance company
You Need a Qualified Legal Professional
Arson cases are very serious and have the potential to severely affect your record and your future. Don’t face these charges alone– hire an experienced criminal defense attorney to ensure you receive only the best results of your case. The criminal defense attorneys at Perez LaSure Law will work closely with you and investigators in order to provide a strong defense for your case. If you or a loved one are being charged with arson, contact us to schedule an initial consultation to discuss your legal options.